Tawata Productions has been making major changes to our 2020 programme as our nation pro-actively battles with the Covid-19 pandemic. Although this has brought postponements to some of our work, one of these changes is the creation of a new collaboration, titled Ngā Whakaaro Huritāo.

Nga Whakaaro Huritāo is a collection of 10 pieces of new writing by invited Tawata artists. Featuring directors, actors, production managers, designers, festival directors – artists who have worked with Tawata Productions from between 2004 – 2019. Season One is online now! Season Two is currently in production.

What does it look like? 1000 words from each artist connected to a specific work from Tawata’s back catalogue. Artists are Jarod Rawiri, Moana Ete, Jennifer Lal, Ahi Karunaharan, Karena Letham, Erina Daniels, Taungaroa Emile, Braedyn Togi, Sopheak Seng & Natala Gwiazdzinski.

Shared over the month of April, join us at for new writing by theatre artists from Aotearoa, New Zealand.