Breaking Ground Creator Mīria George mid-speech

22-27 JUNE 2020


In 2020, Breaking Ground returns to Te Whanganui-a-tara for the 11th season of new writing and new plays crafted by Māori, Pasifika and Indigenous writers of theatre. Breaking Ground opens the door for you to share in the early development of new plays by playwrights from around the country and throughout the world.

Breaking Ground is a festival of ideas and of new writing for theatre. Calling together Māori, Pasifika and global Indigenous playwrights, Breaking Ground develops new playscripts – reimagining storytelling for the stage.

The festival is presented by Tawata Productions and helmed by writer, director and producer Mīria GeorgeBreaking Ground celebrates the powerful role of writers for the stage within any healthy creative industry.

Breaking Ground is presented in partnership with Creative New Zealand, Wellington City Council, Massey University of Wellington and Kia Mau Festival.

Image featuring Breaking Ground creator Mīria George by Julie Zhu.